Reviews

PRESS REVIEWS

OWLPEN MANOR continues to receive widespread coverage in the international press, guide books and topographical literature, from Japan and South Korea to Sweden -- and of course the United States of America. We reprint below some of the more recent articles to give a flavour of what the books and papers are saying about this special Cotswold estate -- manor house, holiday cottages and restaurant.

"The beauty of the Owlpen estate defies words"
Known as one of Prince Charles's favourite places in England, the beauty of the Owlpen estate defies words.  Its so hidden you cannot even see it from Uley Bury, despite the "whole" of the Ewelme valley being laid out before you.  The Tudor manor house is an architectural gem that was left untouch for centuries until sympathetic restoration began in the early 20th century during the Arts and Crafts Movement.  

The house is open for tour groups by prior arangement. The gardens, however, are open, and, like the house, have received acclaim from many of Britain's greatest garden designers Vita Sackville-West and Gertrude Jekyll.  Of historical importance, it's the most complete surviving garden of the Stuart period open to the public, containing seven formal hanging terraces together with further additions made by the present owners along 'old English' traditions.  Box parterres, imaculately clipped hedges and moss-lined stone walls frame borders rich with colour.  Visitors can wander through the idyllic estate-owned village and peaceful valley too, with miles of walks through the surrounding bech woods.  

 

Great Britain Guide

OWLPEN MANOR: THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN THE COTSWOLDS?

Some magical spots capture -- like the phenomenon of experiencing the ocean in a single drop of water -- the essence of an entire world. Owlpen Manor seems to concentrate all there is to know about rural England into one enchanting package. Tucked away in the Cotswold hills, it was long known only to a select few. "Owlpen in Gloucestershire -- Ah, what a dream is there!" rhapsodized Vita Sackville-West in 1941. Some decades later, Prince Charles, who ought to know -- his Highgrove manor is just a few miles away -- called it "the epitome of the English village." The secret was out.

FAIRY-TALE HAMLET

This fairy-tale Cotswold hamlet centers around a picturesque church, a Tudor manor house, and cottages, all set against an equally picturesque mountainside. The seignorial bearing of the manor house is softened by a graceful grouping of pearl-gray stone cottages, tithe barns, garden buildings, and grist mills.

What makes the village (population: 35) the Cotswolds' Shangri-la is that it has remained uniquely unspoiled by the modern world, and for this its guardian mountain must be thanked. Owlpen not only lies deep in archetypal English countryside but deep in history as well; it was first settled in Saxon days as Olla's Pen (meaning valley).

The triple-gabled stone manor house was built between 1450 and 1720, its south elevation asymmetrical, yet "illogically satisfactory" in its appeal, according to the noted architectural historian James Lees-Milne. The house's medieval embrasures and 17th-century gables were restored decades ago by local Arts and Crafts-period artisans, who also created some of the furnishings found within.

TREASURES INSIDE AND OUT

Inside are oak chests fashioned by William Morris, family portraits, Georgian doorcases, unique painted cloths from the Tudor and Stuart eras, and Queen Margaret's Room, said to be haunted by the spirit of Queen Margaret of Anjou, wife of Henry VI, who visited here during the War of the Roses. The garden is hardly changed from the days of Queen Anne; its great yew "ballroom" was the everlasting envy of gardening greats, such as the renowned Gertrude Jekyll.

Today, the house and garden are open to the public from April until mid-October, daily except Monday (unless it's a national-holiday Monday), 2-5. The restaurant is open from noon. Admission charges are £4.50 for the house and grounds, or £2.50 for the grounds only.

WHY NOT JUST MOVE IN? - AT LEAST TEMPORARILY

But -- gasp, pause, imagine -- all this can be your very own home-away-from-home. Several of Owlpen's cottages have been converted into luxurious guest accommodations, including a studio flat in the Tithe Barn; Summerfield Cottage, overlooking a murmuring brook; a gorgeous Cotswold-stone farmhouse nestled deep in the woods; and a dollhouse-size Stuart-era garden building (prices start at £80 for a weekend break per person, while a week in a larger accommodation ranges from £215 to £780 for a double room).

Nicholas Mander -- descendant of Sir Geoffrey and Lady Mander, the noted Pre-Raphaelite art patrons -- and his delightful family oversee this tiny kingdom, with Karin Mander in charge of the Cyder Press restaurant.

A storybook village, a sequestered forest -- with a story or two to tell -- and meadows full of getaway space and privacy spread throughout: These three elements come together unforgettably at Owlpen Manor to form the ultimate Cotswold hamlet. Picturesque in its timelessness and singularly romantic, Owlpen Manor could well rank as the loveliest place in England.

DIRECTIONS AND CONTACT INFO

To get to Owlpen Manor from Painswick, head south on A415 to Stroud, then head west on A419. Turn south on B4066 to Uley and the Owlpen Manor signpost. Owlpen Manor is near Dursley.

Owlpen Manor Phone: 01453/860261. Fax: 01453/860-819.
 


Frommer’s England

Owlpen Manor: A Journey to Brigadoon

As beautiful as Painswick is, there is a place even more lovely. It's the hamlet of Owlpen Manor near Dursley, lying immediately to the south of Painswick, off the beaten track. "Owlpen in Gloucestershire" has been called the British version of Brigadoon, an English Shangri-la. Vita Sackville-West in 1941 rhapsodized, "Ah, what a dream is there." Even Prince Charles, who lives nearby at Highgrove, called it "the epitome of an English village," with its population of 35 lucky souls.

The hamlet centers on a medieval church, an Elizabethan manor, and a collection of stone-built cottages. In the center, you can stroll through the gardens of the triple-gabled manor, constructed between 1450 and 1720. You can visit daily from April through October from 2 to 5pm, paying £5 ($8.50) to see the antique-filled house or else just £4 ($6.80) to stroll through the beautifully kept grounds. There's also a restaurant on site, Cyder Press, serving typically English food.

Insider's Tip: You can actually rent one of these cottages if you fall in love with the Cotswolds and want to hang out for a while. Several have been luxuriously converted into guest accommodations, including a studio in the old Tithe Barn or else our favorite, "Summerfield Cottage," opening onto a murmuring brook--it's a cliché picture postcard of the Cotswolds. Weekly rentals range from £225 to £800 ($382.50 to $1,360), although you can sometimes slip in for a 2-day break costing £85 ($144.50) for two persons.

This fairy-tale hamlet is overseen by Nicholas Ma[n]der, a descendant of Sir Geoffrey and Lady Mander, fabled Pre-Raphaelite art patrons. For information about visits to the manor and its grounds, the village itself, or cottage rentals, call tel. 01453/860261. From Painswick, go south on A45--signposted Stroud--until you come to the junction on A419. At that point, turn south on B4066 in the direction of Uley and follow the signposts to Owlpen Manor.

Copyright © 2001 Hungry Minds, Inc.Source: Frommer's England 2004
 

COUNTRY RETREATS: OWLPEN MANOR, GLOUCESTERSHIRE

Contact: 01453 860 261

Kraft Foods, Bristol & West and B&Q have all frequented this Cotswolds manor and its quirky period cottages. Set in a remote valley near Dursley in Gloucestershire, the venue is dominated by the Grade I-listed Manor House with its Great Hall. Meetings for up to 16 can take place here and break-out sessions can be held either in the adjoining room or in the 16th-century gardens.

The nine cottages vary in size and style and include the chintzy Woodwells, a [lime]stone farmhouse. This and the Grist Mill are ideal for meetings. Small groups can hold brainstorming sessions within the dining rooms before sitting down to a meal with ingredients from the estate’s livestock and produce. Up to 40 can eat in the 15th-century Cyder House restaurant.

However, it is the incentive activities that draw most groups to this retreat. Delegates can arrive in style in chauffeur-driven vintage cars and then explore the countryside for themselves on quad bikes or try their hands at archery, shooting, combat games, clay-pigeon shooting and gliding. Change 2, a leadership development business, took B&Q and Alberto Culver, known for its VO5 and Tresemmé haircare ranges, to the property. Development director Jonathan Harris says: "Owlpen Manor really is a venue with a difference because of its location and its unusual rooms. It gets delegates in a different frame of mind."

11 August 2005
 

HERITAGE TRAIL TO OWLPEN MANOR

This charming little Tudor house is the essence of romanticism and evocativeness. Snuggled well into a densely wooded valley under the edge of the Cotswolds, Owlpen Manor is an unexpected treasure that has somehow managed to remain encapsulated in its own peaceful and secluded time warp. When development of the present house first started over 500 years ago, the de Olepenne family had been settled in the manor since Saxon times. As landowners and ecclesiastical benefactors, the medieval family was well-respected locally and reasonably secure, suggesting that an earlier dwelling house had existed on the site.

When the male line ended in 1464, Owlpen passed into the Daunt family following the marriage between Margery de Olepenne and John Daunt. It was the next two generations who were largely responsible for the building of the manor house, extending and remodelling the core as their wealth increased from Irish land owning interests. Now firmly established in Ireland, the Daunts were using Owlpen Manor purely as a mainland base and by the early 1600s the Cotswold house was suffering from neglect. Enjoying a brief respite from the spreading decay, Owlpen was extensively restored and modernised during the time of the last family members to live in the house.

Detailed accounts exist of the works undertaken by Thomas Daunt in the early 18th century, and remarkably little has altered since his time. During the 1840s a grand Georgian mansion was built at the far end of estate for the Stoughton family, who had recently acquired Owlpen through marriage, but considered the old manor house far too outdated and uncomfortable to fit in with their lifestyle.

Devastated by the collapse of the cloth industry, the population of Owlpen declined, and the abandoned estate gradually fell into dilapidation until popular interest in antiquated properties became fashionable early in the 20th century. Already touched by the evolving Arts and Crafts movement, the Cotswolds was home to many followers of the late William Morris. Inspired by the prospect of improving Owlpen Manor in this tradition, Norman Jewson bought part of the estate in 1925 and spent the next year reviving, preserving and repairing this wonderful, but tired, old property. Sold by Jewson on completion of his works, Owlpen once again became a lively family home where hospitality was the order of the day, especially to the literary world and, in particular, to the many members of the Bloomsbury group.

Today owned and lived in by the Mander family, themselves patrons of the arts, Owlpen Manor has come full circle and is again part of a thriving estate, with the old grist mill, court house and weavers' cottages all contributing in very different roles to the estate's revenue. The delight of discovering this ancient little gem in its idyllic setting is only the beginning of the magical experience. A house with a history divided between abandoned neglect and astoundingly sympathetic restoration, a home full of family treasures happily co-existing with the later Arts and Crafts influence, and a grand old manor that has received many distinguished visitors, three of whom insist on maintaining spiritual contact. An elegant lady, dressed in a fur-trimmed gown and wimple has been seen walking in the Great Chamber on a number of occasions, and is thought to be Queen Margaret of Anjou who first visited Owlpen in 1471.

© Copyright 1998-2005 Heritage Trail Publications Ltd.

OWLPEN MANOR COTTAGES & RESTAURANT

Set in a remote and picturesque wooded valley Owlpen Manor Cottages and Restaurant offer self-catering accommodation in charming period cottages and in idyllic surroundings. Owlpen Manor itself is a romantic Tudor manor house built between 1450 and 1616, and notable for its family and Cotswold Arts and Crafts collections as well as its unique painted cloth wall hangings. Outside, on seven hanging terraces, are formal gardens of the 16th and 17th centuries with topiary yews, box parterres, old fashioned roses and mill pond. The old Cyder House provides an atmospheric setting for a licensed restaurant serving home-cooked lunches, traditional cream teas and gourmet dinners. It is also available for private parties.

"Some of the best cottages available in Britain today" was the Guardian's opinion of Owlpen Manor Cottages. There are nine of them in all, including Grist Mill, built in 1726, and Court House, dating back to 1620. Furnished with antiques and four-poster beds, the cottages can accommodate from two up to nine people and are available throughout the year. Nightly rates are available but a minimum of four nights is required during the high season. Between October and March, weekend breaks are offered, comprising two nights bed & breakfast, three-course dinner on Saturday evening and a late departure of 6pm on Sunday.


The Sunday Times

FAMILY HARMONY IN A COTTAGE COMPLEX:
OWLPEN MANOR GLOUCESTERSHIRE

Don’t call it a complex. This is more of a hamlet — dating back to Stuart times — nestling in its own hidden valley, with a church, a manor house and various cottages, some of them tucked away in the woods. There are eight cottages altogether, sleeping six to eight, all well furnished in traditional style. Many have four-poster beds, and all are a cut above the average.

Ideal for: those who want to escape to a less frenetic time. Cottages are widely spaced, so, even if there is a group of you, privacy is assured.  On offer: “Great walks, fine views and tranquillity”, as one renter put it.

Eating out: go for The Cyder House restaurant, the on-site dining room — rates include one meal there. Expect local venison and pheasant in season.

Dogs? Yes, in certain cottages only, for £4.50 per night.

How much? Summerfield, a cottage for two by the farm, is £295-£495 per week; Grist Mill, which sits on the millpond, sleeps eight and costs £520- £895 for double occupancy, with each extra person paying £40 per week. Two-night weekend breaks start at £260.

Contact: 01453 860816, www.owlpen.com.

February 29, 2004

 

Gay Times

THE OWLPEN

A medieval rural retreat with bags of atmosphere may help banish those big city blues.

Deep in the heart of the Cotswold’s lies a peaceful and serene valley which plays home to The Owlpen Manor, a late medieval estate made up of the Manor House and assorted buildings, like The Court House and Grist Mill. The current owners Nicholas and Karin Mander have spent 32 years restoring the estate to provide luxurious guest accommodation in a variety of buildings; a labour of love that shows in the curious furnishings and antiques collected from around the world - and that clutter many a corner!

The largest of the properties is the Grist Mill, an early 18th Century watermill that lies hidden at the bottom of the valley. Full of charm and with many original features still in place - shutes, hursts, beams, bolting and cleaning equipment, and an enormous mill outside - it is furnished in an antique cottage style and can sleep up to eight people, including two in a colossal oak four-poster bed. By contrast the smallest cottage – The Tithe Barn - is a split level studio apartment, built into the last bay of the Owlpen’s listed barn that can sleep just two people. But they’ll be two people who will relish the outstanding views back across the gardens to the Manor House. However, of all the Holiday Cottages, the most popular is The Court House, a charming Grade 1 listed Stuart garden building dating from around 1620 that has been cleverly converted to provide accommodation for between two and five people.

Nevertheless it’s the Manor House that still lies at the heart of the estate and has been home to the Manders and their five children for many years. What a wonderful place it must have been to grow up in! It even comes complete with ghosts and has featured on TV’s Most Haunted. Another grade 1 listed building, it is worth a visit just for the chance to amble through the remarkable interiors, which have been enhanced with some rare Cotswold arts and crafts furniture, as well as the family’s own historic collections. If you’re lucky you might even see one of those ghosts – or two.

In case you hadn’t worked it out, this is not your typical holiday cottage complex. There is no ugly new outhouses or children’s playgrounds tacked on. And not a whiff of a Dorothy L Sayers paperback stuffed behind the commode. It’s as though time has stood still and the feelings of peace and tranquillity that descend upon you on arrival help banish the excesses of 21st Century life to a place far, far away - especially as you will be lucky to get any mobile reception down in the valley!

Cottage guests are welcome to stroll around the grounds, which include one of the oldest domestic gardens to survive practically untouched. But, perhaps the most wonderful part of this estate is the on-site restaurant situated in the beautiful Cyder House. Restaurant times vary, with lunch and afternoon tea available on days when the house is open to the public, and dinner available on either Friday or Saturday nights. But when it is open the varied bistro-style menu utilises fresh produce from the estate wherever possible.

Karin Mander is an accomplished chef and personally oversees the restaurant. Her passion for food has been inspired by her frequent travels abroad and time spent living and working in the Mediterranean and sample specialities include Venison and Grouse (from the estate) as well as Owlpen Beefsteak and Guinness Pie. There is also a menu of freshly prepared dishes which can be pre-ordered and left in your cottage to be heated up on arrival. It’s a special welcome when you arrive late after a stressful drive and find a meal literally waiting for you, though if your tendencies run to more basic provisions these can also be pre ordered. Wine lovers, meanwhile, will find the wine list great value. Big city prices are left behind along with the big city stress.

The Owlpen has already hosted many gay parties, including a weekend visit from the Gay Classic Car Club and is definitely gay-friendly. Not that that should come as a surprise. It’s a superb spot to celebrate a birthday or Gay Wedding, and can sleep up to 39 people across the various cottages with exclusive use, should you require, and catering provided on request.

If you do manage to drag yourself away from the cottage there are many place of local interest scattered around the beautiful valley. The historic cities of Bath, Cheltenham, Cirencester and Gloucester are all approximately 20 miles away, with their wealth of cultural attractions, while heritage fiends can explore the area’s historic houses, including Berkeley Castle, Chavenage House, Dyrham Park and Sudeley Castle. Particular places of interest to visit include the American Museum at Claverton Manor, the Roman Baths at Bath, the Wildfowl Trust at Slimbridge and the many gardens, including Barnsley House, Hodges Barn, Miserden Park and Prince Charles’s Highgrove - even if you can get in! For amblers there are lots of scenic walks, though if you don’t want to go too far, there are several lightweight rambles round the Owlpen Estate itself, with detailed maps provided in all the cottages.

ESSENTIALS

Doesn’t all this luxury and charm cost a royal wage? Not at all. Prices vary according to season, but start as low as £310 for two people in the Tithe Barn for a week in early 2006, rising to £435 in peak summer months. Eight People in the Grist Mill in low season costs £830, rising to £1450 in the peak summer months. A three course dinner, meanwhile, costs £24.95 in the Cyder House. Bookings can be made on the website at www.owlpen.com or by calling 01453 860261. It’s one call you won’t regret making.

Tony Pithers

October 2005   © 2006 Millivres Prowler Limited

  The Guardian

COTS IN THE COTSWOLDS

Deep in the heart of honey-stone country, Owlpen Manor oozes charm and history - and best of all, it has sheep, ducks and hooting owls

We did not arrive in the best of moods: parents exhausted from work and traffic; 18-month-old Alexander fractious (and reeking) after a vomiting incident on the Malmesbury bypass. But in the glow of a sunny evening, Owlpen Manor was a soothing prospect. It was an idyllic scene - a wooded valley with a babbling stream, a Tudor manor house and church surrounded by a sprinkling of cottages in mellow honey-coloured stone. It could be a set designer's dream of the perfect Cotswold hamlet, and in a sense, it is; the manor was rescued by arts-and-crafts architect Norman Jewson in 1916, and the remainder of the buildings have been restored or added by the current owners, the Mander family, over the past 30 years.

Our home for the weekend was the Court House, a converted 17th-century banqueting house - a favourite of the late Robin Cook, apparently, who came here to write his speeches. Though not quite child-friendly enough for anxious metropolitan parents (spiral staircases and toddlers do not happily coexist), the house oozed history and Alexander was fascinated by the hooting of owls outside. The rooms were tiny but cosy, and the low-ceilinged attic bedrooms would appeal to older children.

There are nine cottages, sleeping from two to 10. The finest are in historic listed buildings. A couple are modern and rather characterless, but probably more practical for families with very young children. There is a restaurant, The Cyder House, located in a 15th-century barn, with ancient cruck trusses and a gigantic oak cider press in one corner. It is only open for lunch and teas in the summer, plus one evening a week, but prepared dishes can be ordered in advance.owlpen vert

With our son safely asleep (a cot and highchair were provided), we sat down to enjoy steak-and-ale pie made with organic Owlpen beef. Later, we stepped out to the churchyard a few yards from our door to watch an enormous full moon rise silently above the yews. The valley is notably free of light and noise pollution.

The following morning, we explored the estate. There are miles of walks through beech woods, perfect picnic spots in abundance, and a wonderful sense of seclusion which makes the 21st century seem very remote, though Alexander was more interested in the resident cows, sheep and ducks.Owlpen Manor, Gloucestershire (01453 860261 owlpen.com). From £60 per night/£250 a week. Min stay: two nights low/mid season, four nights high. Week- end breaks (two nights) inc B&B and one dinner from £250 for two (Oct-April).

Mark Porter
Saturday November 19, 2005

Chic Rural Retreats

Maid? Gourmet meals? Rhiannon Batten uncovers UK cottages with all the trimmings

Owlpen Manor, Gloucestershire

A cluster of medieval buildings set around a Tudor manor, Owlpen is your quintessential rural English retreat. It is run along the lines of a country-house hotel. Nine of the properties have been converted into upmarket guest cottages and the estate's former cider house has been pressed into service as a restaurant. Thanks to a concierge-like reception facility, you can order home-cooked gourmet meals delivered to the door, arrange car service, book airport transfers, have flowers sent over or a tea tray waiting when you arrive. Still not enough to tempt you? Breakfast hampers, laundry, babysitting and maid service can also be arranged.

Owlpen Manor, near Uley, Gloucestershire (01453 860261; www.owlpen.com).
Four nights' rental of a two-person cottage starts at £185.

Rhiannon Batten

3 June 2006    © The Independent, 2006
 

OWLPEN MANOR, Near ULEY,
GLOUCESTERSHIRE GL11 5BZ

Summerfield

Tabby, April 2017

Owlpen is a truly irresistible treat of the Cotwolds. I felt at home immediately and both myself and my dog had a wonderful break. 
I wonderful highly recommend a visit here - you are well looked after yet left alone. The walks are simply stunning and can be enjoyed by all generations of family and by the dogs. The village of Uley has everything you need and the surrounding areas are full of history and picture perfect views.  I intend to go back again next year - and have marked as a must for all my friends and family.

Richard, March 2016

Really fantastic trip down to Owlpen to stay in Summerfield Cottage. A beautiful little cottage with all the amenities you could ever want. Good sized rooms for a couple (and a dog), lots of countryside and dozens of walks from the cottage. Karin had left a really useful handbook about the cottage and the surrounding area, which was great. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back!

Sarah, April 2015

We stayed at Summerfield Cottage, it was so lovely! Tucked away for a few days of relaxation is just what we needed. Had all the essential basics of what you need, will definitely be back.

 

Tithe Barn

Philippa, April 2017

Such a beautiful quiet picturesque place, very unspoilt. Perfect for what we wanted, a great getaway from London. Peace and quiet, cosy evenings infront of log fire, lovely walks with dog, each reach of tetbury for shops and restaurants, or the crown is a stroll down the road. The cottage had all the amenities we needed.

Kate, April 2017

Absolutely stunning location and grounds of the manor. Small but very comfortable stay, well equipped and in a historic barn. Perfect for wonderful walks and relaxing.

Will, March 2017

Peaceful, quiet, clean and lovely, everything we were hoping for.

Amy, November 2016

Beautiful and tranquil location, great for country walking. Warm and cosy barn within walking distance of a fantastic pub. Perfect for a long weekend away.

David, November 2016

We had a wonderful stay in Tythe Barn and would have loved to have stayed longer. Everything had been organised very well and Karin was an excellent host.

Paul, October 2016

We were celebrating our honeymoon and Karen and the team had arranged a lovely bottle of prosecco for us when we arrived. Great touch. It was a really relaxing week. Stunning setting and great value for money.

George, October 2016

A lovely peaceful stay in beautiful Owlpen manor. Gorgeous grounds and surrounding countryside. Karin was lovely and extremely helpful. Even letting us borrow her car when I managed to get 2 punctures. Would highly recommend

Matthew, September 2016

Owlpen is beautiful! We were actually upgraded to Summerfield cottage which is another cottage on the estate just before we arrived and if Tythe barn is anything to go by Summerfield it will be lovely. All of the cottages are set in an uninterrupted landscape of Cotswold beauty. A short hop skip and a jump from the local pub which serves great traditional pub grub! The Cotswolds way is on your door stop with hikes to the top of Cam peak with 360 degree views all the way to Wales! The cottage had all the amenities we needed to make ourselves at home and the bed was sooooo comfy. Cannot wait to come back!

Courtney, July 2016

Had a lovely two night stay in Thythe barn. Communication was good before the trip and little touches like milk being left in the fridge and lights being left on for our arrival made it even better. Stunning location and gorgeous cottage!

Claudette, July 2016

The Tithe Barn is located in the grounds of Owlpen Manor...a stones throw from the Manor House and it's beautiful gardens and Church. The Barn is a perfect for 2 people. It had everything we needed and and very helpful information on the local area and amenities. I highly recommend it.

 

Over Court

Emma, May 2017

Stunning location, cosy and wonderful cottage. We really enjoyed our weekend stay and would highly recommend staying with Karin on the estate.

Matthew, October 2016

Perfect cottage in The Cotswolds! House has everything you need and is in easy walking distance of Uley for a local pub. Lots of walks in the area. We had a great weekend!

Beth, October 2016

The house was amazing, lots of space, a full kitchen and very comfy beds. The location is lovely too, close to a pretty Cotswold village. The check-in / check-out process was very easy too. Would highly recommend!

Philippa, September 2016

Karin provided a helpful email with directions and details about checking in late. Thanks to this, we found the place with no problem. The cottage was lovely and perfect for a family of five.

Richard, July 2016

Lovely valley - house small but tastefully done - some plumbing issues - would recommend

Russell, April 2015

A lovely stay in a wonderful, secluded location. House perfectly suited to a young family.

Jamie, May 2017

Owlpen is a fantastic hidden gem. The grounds and surrounding area are so peaceful and quaint. Our stay at Overcourt cottage was as expected. It is a cute little cottage, well equipped, with a wonderful outlook. We would happily go again.

Jamie, October 2016

Spent the whole weekend repeatedly saying 'what a lovely [insert word here]'; amazing location, host and dwelling - nothing to improve, an expert host!

Chirag, September 2016

Excellent property in excellent location. Property was as described in the profile.

Andreas, September 2016

We had a wonderful vacation in Owlpen. It is beautifully situated in a very quiet valley, Uley the village nearby is gorgeous, the Old Crown Pub is nice and the food there very good. We enjoyed the area and the friendly people and hope to come back.

Muhamad, July 2016

It’s a wonderful place for family summer vacation! Nice surrounding for walk around. Accommodation as described. Its secluded and private yet basic amenities is provided. It may seems remote but once you reach Uley (nearest village) it easy to find Owlpen. Its a great experience of England's countryside and Cotswold.

Susan, July 2015

We had a wonderful visit to Over Court and Owlpen Manor. Lovely hosts, highly responsive to every request - lovely location, perfect for a couple of yanks eager to visit the Cotswolds! We loved every minute in our beautifully equipped and furnished cottage. Highly recommend!

Amy, August 2016

Lovely manor, garden, and grounds!

 

 

Court House

 

Birgit, June 2017

We loved everything about Karin's place. Beautifully decorated cottage and the estate with its land was magical. We hope to be back.

 

Tom, May 2017

We had a great stay here. So secluded and picturesque. The staff were really helpful with the check-in and organising activities for us and making recommendations. We had a really great time.

 

Sarah, May 2017

The cottage was secluded and old fashioned but in a good way!

 

Eric, April 2017

 Great experience

 

Liya, March 2017

Lovely heritage cottage on the Owlpen estate, right next to the manor house and chapel. Great for an idyllic Cotswolds escape.

 

Richard and Paul, March 2017

Great cottage in a beautiful location - lots of lovely walks on the doorstep and perfect bolt hole for city folk like ourselves!

 

Ellen, January 2017

Perfect location for our get away from it all New Year break. Small and compact cottage but had everything we needed for our 3 night break.

 

Hazel, December 2016

Good communication and place as described. Lovely location

 

Athena, November 2016

A lovely setting, heating was on for us on timer, cottage was cosy, and there was a good level of cleanliness. Would recommend it for anyone wanting a countryside getaway.

 

Alessandra, November 2016

Adorable cottage. Very magical spot

 

Nicola, October 2016

The location is absolutely beautiful. Communication with the host was excellent and they left us plenty of information about the property and the surrounding area.

 

Roxane, October 2016

 This place is absolutely amazing, so lovely... It's all you can dream of when you think of the english country side. Obviously it's suitable only for people with a car and you should plan to take your food for breakfast with you as it's isolated (coffee, tea, and some biscuits were provided. In terms of kitchen ustensils, you'll find everything you need there even glasses for Champagne are provided). The house is like a doll house, very cute but easier for small people :) The solution they have to provide you with the keys is ideal and very flexible, you can arrive and leave at any time, the indications to reach the place aswell. It's ideal as a starting point to visit the Costwolds, very close to the amazing Tetbury village and one hour away from famous places like bourton on the water.

 

Gordon, October 2016

We were made to feel very welcome. We received a call en route to advise us of a minor problem that was being resolved.

 

Gabriella, September 2016

Beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting, with lots of lovely walks in the area. Would definitely recommend!

 

Stephanie, September 2016

My mum, sister and I had a wonderful stay at the Court House. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we enjoyed exploring the grounds of the estate. The house is very quaint, full of character and an ideal base from which to explore Bath and the Cotswolds. Bella was very helpful and accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. Perfect quintessential English countryside retreat, thank you!

 

Kashmir, August 2016

This was an impulse booking and we are glad we stayed at the Court House. The house has a nice rustic feel to it, the spiral staircase can be a little tight for some, although I am 6'2" and managed them fine. Bella at the estate office was extremely helpful with advice on where to eat and things to do. She was a life saver on our 3rd day when we had a flat tyre and she came to the cottage with an air compressor. All in all a very nice stay and would highly recommend this cottage to anybody wishing to explore the south cotswold area.

 

Lizzie, August 2016

Fantastic AirBnB stay in this historic cottage amid beautiful manor house gardens, a restful brook nearby and an idyllic pasture with sheep opposite. Our cottage and experience exceeded our expectations. We had a private terrace as well as a comfortable sitting room and dining room. Karin and Nicolas made us feel very welcome in person and with a fantastic information folder. We would definitely highly recommend this listing, and hope to return!

 

Derek, August 2016

The house was wonderful. It was mentioned that the house would not be to everyone's taste as it is unique. As long as you read the description properly and understand that the spiral staircase is steep and narrow, then there should be no problem at all. If my 87 year old father can walk up and down, so can most other people. Sorry to be so blunt but it would not be for large, wide people. Apart from that the Court House is charming, very comfortable and very stylishly decorated and furnished with good, old fashioned, taste. A delight. The beds were comfortable according to my two travel companions and my bed certainly was. The bathroom was good and modern and with lots of hot water. All in all - a very comfortable, perfectly located country house. We loved it. The location is a dream. The grounds of the Manor, the surrounding fields, the folds of the hills - straight out of a picture book. Sheep in the field opposite and cows in the next field. I sat drinking my tea looking over a pastoral scene that, for a Londoner, was straight out of a Hollywood film of what the English countryside would be - only this was real. Sorry Hugo and Karin - we are Londoners - please allow for some romanticism here. I shall be back, without a doubt. Please just allow me some availability. I came here based on the Israeli family's feedback so I am sure I am not doing myself a favour by waxing lyrical over your place as well. Still, you deserve to do very well. Hugo was very welcoming and very friendly. Good luck and enjoy your country idyll. Derek, Sergio, Don.

 

David, August 2016

The place is amazing! Character with a capital "C". We also had near perfect weather which I imagine makes a big difference. The surroundings are stunning, everywhere you look is another postcard photo opportunity. The hosts have provided just about everything you could need. Everything is cosy small but well kept, the kitchen even has a dishwasher. In fact the whole house is a bit of a tardis, it doesn't really seem possible to fit 2 double and 2 single beds but they have. The structure is nearing 400yrs old so expect small windows, uneven floors and drafts, but this can't be changed without losing character. The little front garden and eating area are great in the afternoon sun. Loads of walking opportunities and Uley local store only a 20min walk. Best family holiday ever.

 

Nicola, August 2016

Lovely place- was booked by me as accommodation for a wedding at the nearby Matara Centre in Kingscote, although it was actually some friends who ended up staying there due to the strict cancellation policy (which is very clearly stated on the listings page). Karin was really good to allow us to pass the booking on to a friend without any charge and they loved the house would highly recommend it. Karin provided lots of information and detailed directions before they arrived so key pick up was very straightforward. The house had everything you could need and was oozing with charm, character and home comforts and it was easy enough to get a taxi back from Matara late at night. Great little place!

Ben, July 2016

This is a lovely place. We were given easy arrival instructions & found the place with no problem. It's a very sweet place, lots of character. We were there in the height of summer and the rooms stayed fairly cool which was great. It was lovely to be able to walk around the grounds of Owlpen Manor, and there are lots of good walks nearby. I would be cautious of having small children in the Court House as the stairs are a fairly tight spiral, although this only adds to the character!

 

Grist Mill

Alexandra

We had a wonderful time at the Grist Mill. Karin and her family were very hospitable and the Grist Mill is in an idyllic place. The house is very nicely decorated and comfortable, the kitchen is super well equipped and the bedrooms are just lovely. There are beautiful walks to go on and the surroundings are incredible. We'd love to return!

Anna

Stunning house in the middle of buttercup fields, rolling hills and a babbling brook. Simply and beautifully decorated. Gorgeous walks, a Sunday village fete with BBQ, Pimms and band perfectly finished off an idyllic country weekend. 

Jessica

We celebrated my Mum's 60th Birthday at Grist Mill on the Owlpen Estate, and the house could not have been better. It was the perfect size for our party of 6 (although 2 more could have fit). It is a beautiful cottage with all the amenities necessary for the perfect country escape. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable and we all slept very well! The garden was the perfect size for our puppy to run around and the surrounding countryside was beautiful, we could have walked all day long. The check in was extremely easy and the information pack about various walks and local history was helpful. There was always help from Bella at the Manor if we had any queries. I would highly recommend.

Paul

A fantastically restored mill, with amazingly well-equipped kitchen, beautiful bedrooms, and superb location. Very friendly and welcoming, and a wonderful location for long walks with the dog. We had a great time, although it is a shame the pond had been drained (broken sluice gate, apparently). We would definitely recommend Grist Mill.

Lidia

We were a party of 6 staying at the Grist Mill for 3 nights in September 2015. It was a friends reunion to which we came from all parts of the globe. The Grist Mill was a perfect location for our reunion. The Mill is very comfortable and rustic. The floors have privacy and there are various corners that enabled us to be together but also have private time. The kitchen is very well equipped and we enjoyed cooking - we did not feel the need to go out for meals at all. 

Camilla

This cottage is completely idyllic and everything we wanted for our weekend away. The cottage is cosy but spacious and the surrounding area is breathtaking. Karin left us all the information we needed and communicated with us brilliantly prior to our arrival. Thank you!

Grace & Nick

We were a party of 8 friends (4 couples) staying in the Grist Mill for New Year's. The house is really lovely and the surrounding area is beautiful. We had a great time and all communication with Karin was good and the information pack provided was helpful. The internet must now be fixed (since the previous reviews) as we had no problems with the wifi. The only negative points were that, as mentioned in a previous review, the noise from the upstairs bathroom pipes was quite loud for the people sleeping in the twin room. Also the fourth bedroom is more like two single beds split over a floor which isn't particularly private. Therefore this arrangement may be better suited for two children rather than a couple.

Helen (May 2016)

The house was lovely. Bella was really friendly and helpful by email and upon arrival. Plenty of parking. Pub nearby and some good walks from the house. Previous reviews mention the noisy boiler and first floor toilet. It wasn't that bad and don't prevent us sleeping. Sleeps 3 couples, the two singles on the second floor are separated by curtains and the double room guests on that floor have to walk through one 'room' to get to the bathroom. Electric oven takes ages to warm up so be prepared. Peaceful location, only occasional walkers through the garden. Lovely pond for swimming.

Keren (May 2016)

Our party of seven all agreed that the mill was amazing! We all had a great time, lots of hiking during the day with walks on the doorstep, no need to use our car! Home to the tranquil and comfortable mill in the evening. The kitchen was fully equipped and the dining and relaxing area plenty big enough for all of us. The mill is beautifully preserved (possibly to the annoyance of taller members of the party! Watch out for low ceilings!) overall we had a great stay and would heartily recommend.

Ellen (July 2016)

I highly recommend Owlpen Manor! We were looked after very well and Bella And Karin gave us all the information we needed. The cottage was beautiful and the surrounding areas too. Perfect for a group of friends!

Shannon (July 2016) 

Great secluded home with everything you need. Clean, well equipped and more than comfortable. Wi-Fi is excellent and kitchen well stocked. Views are pretty and while the property is one of several on the estate, you always feel alone. Great walks surround and the local Uley pub is great for a meal and drink.

Daniel (July 2016)

Beautiful area, lovely house.

James (July 2016)

Great place for a short or long retreat from the city.

Penny (July 2016)

Grist Mill is a little piece of heaven in gorgeous countryside. We had a wonderful week here and loved the laid back atmosphere of the Owlpen estate. It was very hot at the start of the week so really enjoyed wild swimming in the small lake near to the house as did our labrador who swam several times a day. It is a perfect place to relax or use as a base to explore Gloucestershire. Bella was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We loved it here and definitely hope to return in the future.

Peter's Nest

Donna, May 2017

This is a completely secluded and peaceful spot. All you can hear is the sound of birdsong when you wake in the morning. comfortable and well-equipped cottage with lots of character. Very comfortable mattress and bed. Water pressure a bit low for showering. Kitchen well-equipped. A great place with access to walks from the door around the estate.

 

Simon, February 2017

We were moved from Peter's Nest to another cottage, Summerfield, at late notice. Summerfield turned out to be lovely, and well equipped (apart from a soft mattress). The log burner was great. The valley is beautiful, although the filming which had overrun and caused our relocation did restrict our movement until it finished. The area is lovely - Uley has a very good arts centre cafe and good walks. This cosy hideaway gave us a relaxing break.

 

Lucy, January 2017

A really cute and cosy little cottage perfect getaway. My boyfriend and I spent New Year's Eve here, sadly missed the first day of the trip due to illness, but the keys were left for us and the cottage lights and heating was on ready for us when we arrived. The kitchen was well equipped which was important as I love cooking! Sadly never got to meet our hosts but enjoyed walking around the beautiful surrounding area. The cottage is not ideal if you are tall, especially when it comes to showering, but apart from that it is perfect! I can highly recommend it.

 

Ali, December 2016

 Report

Helpful

Absolutely loved it, perfect get away.

 

Peter, December 2016

A lovely little cottage in the grounds of an old country manor house, Peters Nest is pretty much exactly as described: a cosy spot to spend a long weekend pottering around the surrounding areas with the dog. The wood burner was welcome, especially on a soggy winters' day! A local pub serves great hearty food and is about 20 minutes walk away, and the village stores are about the same for newspapers etc. Spot on.

 

Sarah, November 2016

We had a wonderful stay - the cottage is cosy and has everything you need.  It's a beautiful setting. The staff was very responsive and everything was easy to arrange - a delight!

 

David, October 2016

A wonderful stay in a magical cottage. Karin (and the pheasants) was very welcoming, and the cottage we stayed in was homely, warm and had everything needed. The Manor is a great hideaway and has a great feel to it. definitely recommend.

Woodwells

Aarti, June 2017

An incredible stay in Uley! Pictures don't do this cottage justice, it was absolutely beautiful & so so cosy! We were in the area for a wedding in Kingscote & it was very easy via taxi/car to get to. Extremely easy check in & Karin was very helpful beforehand with any questions I had! We didn't get a chance to but I imagine walks around the area would be sensational! The area is incredible! Highly recommend this cottage!

Julian, June 2017

Amazing cottage in the Cotswolds. We would return on our next trip.

Amanda, May 2017

Just as described. The cottage was beautiful and nicely furnished for comfort and appearance. The setting for the cottages was just stunning with expansive woodlands to walk in. We had 2 cottages for a family get together which suited perfectly as they were walking distance to each other. The kitchen was well equipped and stocked with kitchen basics making it easy to stay in. The estate office were very helpful with all enquiries. No complaints and I would love to stay again.

Michel, April 2017

 Total bliss, just go....

Katy, March 2017

 We had a fantastic stay at Woodwells cottage. The house is spacious, comfortable, well equipped and set in beautiful countryside. Highly recommend!

Amy, March 2017

 A perfect getaway in the Countryside, really clean, cosy, cottage-like and spacious! Was everything we were expecting plus the perks of having a backdrop of the woodland and surrounding estate. The birdsong was beautiful and the beds were extremely comfortable. A friendly and helpful man helped us at the Manor House but we were also left alone to get on with relaxing too. Would definitely come again!

Raphael, November 2016

A wonderful, peaceful location. The cottage was spacious, very clean and cosy. It had everything we needed. Truly wonderful.

John, October 2016

This is a perfect getaway cottage. Well appointed, clean, cosy and excellent location for getting away.

James, August 2016

A beautiful location

Pip, July 2016

Bella organises the cottages and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Gathering utensils to help with my cake baking and ensuring she was in to take receipt of my shoes that were being delivered for the wedding the next day. Thank you so much we had a wonderful stay!

Molly, May 2016

 Our stay at Owlpen was truly magical! Bella and Hugo left clear instructions for getting into the cottage, and everything was perfectly in order when we arrived. As a delightful bonus, they'd strung bunting up over the yard for our hen party. It was a beautiful sight to arrive to. A wonderful experience overall.

Chris, May 2016

 Even more beautiful than the pictures suggest. Perfect weekend. Thank you!

Evelyn, March 2016

This sweet cottage was tucked away down quaint, windy roads, was well secluded, quiet, and very private. It was just as it appears in the photos. The check-in/check-out process was smooth and friendly. Our daughter left her little teddy and Bella and Karin were kind enough to put it in the post back to us. I was able to go for a nice run and we had a magnificent meal at a gorgeous/delicious spa/b'n'b pub down the road, which Bella booked for us. It was perfect for my husband and I and our three little daughters.

Helena, March 2016

The cottage was perfect and such a lovely place to stay. Incredibly secluded and beautiful spot. After a nightmare with our car breaking down on arrival we were helped out by a lot of very kind local people!

Neil, August 2015

We had a lovely time at Owlpen. The setting is just so beautiful and the house was perfect. Thanks!

 

Juan Pablo, June 2015

The cottage is amazing! People from Owlpen Manor Office was very kind and provided very helpful information about places to visit. I strongly recommend this place.

 

Manor Farm

reviews