Reviews

Some of our most recent reviews from partner websites.  OUR PROMISE: all of these reviews are unedited, unselected and 100% genuine!

 

Marlings End

 

Amanda, May 2017

Just as described. The cottage was beautiful and nicely furnished for comfort and appearance. The setting for the cottages was just stunning, expansive woodlands to walk in. We had 2 cottages for a family get together which suited perfectly as they were walking distance to each other. The kitchen was well equipped and stocked with kitchen basics making it easy to stay in. The estate office were very helpful with any enquiries. No complaints and I would love to stay again.

Miriam, May 2017

We loved the super views, comfy beds and well equipped kitchen. In May the wild garlic, baby rabbits, and glorious blue skies made waking up and looking out over the hills really special. The children loved the garden although watch out for those rabbit holes and nettles, this is not a Chelsea show garden after all! The cottage is toasty warm so an open fire wasn't strictly necessary but got well used anyway! We stayed here during Badminton Horse Trials and found our journey onto the site straightforward and not too busy at all. Well, Cross Country day there was a bit of queuing but that is to be expected. We would definitely stay again and have already recommended the cottage to someone else.

Zina, April 2017

A very very cosy, well equppied and comfortable cottage in stunningly beautiful surroundings. Staff at Owlpen Manor office were friendly and extremely helpful. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

Alison, March 2017

Marlings End is a very spacious and yet really cosy cottage with the most spectacular views and walks right from the front door. If you want peace and quiet (within walking reach of a good pub) then this is the place. All home comforts, lush towels and comfortable beds, a really well equipped, albeit small kitchen (I managed a three course dinner for 5 without any issues). Karin was prompt in her communications and everything was taken care off. We would definitely visit again - a really perfect piece of quintessential England.

Theresa, January 2017

We were kindly upgraded by Bella from Marlings End to Woodwells Cottage and it was absolutely great! Communication and arrival was clear and easy. Woodwells was very spacious, had everything we needed, was warm and cosy on a very cold wintry weekend and worked perfectly for our family get together. The whole Owlpen estate is beautiful and in a fantastic spot - we would love to come back to see the woods and views changing with each season.

Dawn, January 2017

Marlings End was just perfect, really well equipped in the most stunning of countryside would most definitely visit again

Lauren, November 2016

What a complete and utter gem! Can't describe just how beautiful and how homely Marlings House was.. and surrounds. Could easily have gotten lost there. Highly recommended x

Emma, October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here - beautiful grounds and views, and a great cottage with everything we needed. Only downside was that we couldn't stay longer.

Laura, December 2016

Such a lovely cosy cottage that gets the sun in the morning. A great escape from the city. There was plenty of room for five with comfortable, warm beds and had everything we needed. The open fire place was lovely in the evenings. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Anthony, June 2016

Marling's End was our little 'escape to the country' for 2 nights and it proved to be a great find! Such a quaint little place filled with homely furniture and everything needed for a comfortable stay. Plenty of space for our family of five. Owlpen is a beautiful location in a secluded green valley and Owlpen Manor with its stunningly old buildings is the perfect place for a quiet break. A short drive to Uley for a hearty pub meal and lots of beautiful Cotswold villages are within an easy drive. Narrow laneways and tight gateway entrance to our accommodation would be a bit tricky for larger vehicles! All part of the adventure though! We were left to ourselves right up until our departure when we met one of the staff in the office who was very welcoming. Karin provided plenty of information at the time of booking with instructions on how to get to Owlpen and how to check in. Highly recommend Owlpen Manor and in particular Marling's End.

Summerfield

Tabby, April 2017

Owlpen is a truly irresistible treat of the Cotwolds. I felt at home immediately and both myself and my dog had a wonderful break. 
I wonderful highly recommend a visit here - you are well looked after yet left alone. The walks are simply stunning and can be enjoyed by all generations of family and by the dogs. The village of Uley has everything you need and the surrounding areas are full of history and picture perfect views.  I intend to go back again next year - and have marked as a must for all my friends and family.

Richard, March 2016

Really fantastic trip down to Owlpen to stay in Summerfield Cottage. A beautiful little cottage with all the amenities you could ever want. Good sized rooms for a couple (and a dog), lots of countryside and dozens of walks from the cottage. Karin had left a really useful handbook about the cottage and the surrounding area, which was great. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back!

Sarah, April 2015

We stayed at Summerfield Cottage, it was so lovely! Tucked away for a few days of relaxation is just what we needed. Had all the essential basics of what you need, will definitely be back.

 

Tithe Barn

Philippa, April 2017

Such a beautiful quiet picturesque place, very unspoilt. Perfect for what we wanted, a great getaway from London. Peace and quiet, cosy evenings infront of log fire, lovely walks with dog, each reach of tetbury for shops and restaurants, or the crown is a stroll down the road. The cottage had all the amenities we needed.

Kate, April 2017

Absolutely stunning location and grounds of the manor. Small but very comfortable stay, well equipped and in a historic barn. Perfect for wonderful walks and relaxing.

Will, March 2017

Peaceful, quiet, clean and lovely, everything we were hoping for.

Amy, November 2016

Beautiful and tranquil location, great for country walking. Warm and cosy barn within walking distance of a fantastic pub. Perfect for a long weekend away.

David, November 2016

We had a wonderful stay in Tythe Barn and would have loved to have stayed longer. Everything had been organised very well and Karin was an excellent host.

Paul, October 2016

We were celebrating our honeymoon and Karen and the team had arranged a lovely bottle of prosecco for us when we arrived. Great touch. It was a really relaxing week. Stunning setting and great value for money.

George, October 2016

A lovely peaceful stay in beautiful Owlpen manor. Gorgeous grounds and surrounding countryside. Karin was lovely and extremely helpful. Even letting us borrow her car when I managed to get 2 punctures. Would highly recommend

Matthew, September 2016

Owlpen is beautiful! We were actually upgraded to Summerfield cottage which is another cottage on the estate just before we arrived and if Tythe barn is anything to go by Summerfield it will be lovely. All of the cottages are set in an uninterrupted landscape of Cotswold beauty. A short hop skip and a jump from the local pub which serves great traditional pub grub! The Cotswolds way is on your door stop with hikes to the top of Cam peak with 360 degree views all the way to Wales! The cottage had all the amenities we needed to make ourselves at home and the bed was sooooo comfy. Cannot wait to come back!

Courtney, July 2016

Had a lovely two night stay in Thythe barn. Communication was good before the trip and little touches like milk being left in the fridge and lights being left on for our arrival made it even better. Stunning location and gorgeous cottage!

Claudette, July 2016

The Tithe Barn is located in the grounds of Owlpen Manor...a stones throw from the Manor House and it's beautiful gardens and Church. The Barn is a perfect for 2 people. It had everything we needed and and very helpful information on the local area and amenities. I highly recommend it.

 

Over Court

Emma, May 2017

Stunning location, cosy and wonderful cottage. We really enjoyed our weekend stay and would highly recommend staying with Karin on the estate.

Matthew, October 2016

Perfect cottage in The Cotswolds! House has everything you need and is in easy walking distance of Uley for a local pub. Lots of walks in the area. We had a great weekend!

Beth, October 2016

The house was amazing, lots of space, a full kitchen and very comfy beds. The location is lovely too, close to a pretty Cotswold village. The check-in / check-out process was very easy too. Would highly recommend!

Philippa, September 2016

Karin provided a helpful email with directions and details about checking in late. Thanks to this, we found the place with no problem. The cottage was lovely and perfect for a family of five.

Richard, July 2016

Lovely valley - house small but tastefully done - some plumbing issues - would recommend

Russell, April 2015

A lovely stay in a wonderful, secluded location. House perfectly suited to a young family.

Jamie, May 2017

Owlpen is a fantastic hidden gem. The grounds and surrounding area are so peaceful and quaint. Our stay at Overcourt cottage was as expected. It is a cute little cottage, well equipped, with a wonderful outlook. We would happily go again.

Jamie, October 2016

Spent the whole weekend repeatedly saying 'what a lovely [insert word here]'; amazing location, host and dwelling - nothing to improve, an expert host!

Chirag, September 2016

Excellent property in excellent location. Property was as described in the profile.

Andreas, September 2016

We had a wonderful vacation in Owlpen. It is beautifully situated in a very quiet valley, Uley the village nearby is gorgeous, the Old Crown Pub is nice and the food there very good. We enjoyed the area and the friendly people and hope to come back.

Muhamad, July 2016

It’s a wonderful place for family summer vacation! Nice surrounding for walk around. Accommodation as described. Its secluded and private yet basic amenities is provided. It may seems remote but once you reach Uley (nearest village) it easy to find Owlpen. Its a great experience of England's countryside and Cotswold.

Susan, July 2015

We had a wonderful visit to Over Court and Owlpen Manor. Lovely hosts, highly responsive to every request - lovely location, perfect for a couple of yanks eager to visit the Cotswolds! We loved every minute in our beautifully equipped and furnished cottage. Highly recommend!

Amy, August 2016

Lovely manor, garden, and grounds!

 

 

Court House

 

Birgit, June 2017

We loved everything about Karin's place. Beautifully decorated cottage and the estate with its land was magical. We hope to be back.

 

Tom, May 2017

We had a great stay here. So secluded and picturesque. The staff were really helpful with the check-in and organising activities for us and making recommendations. We had a really great time.

 

Sarah, May 2017

The cottage was secluded and old fashioned but in a good way!

 

Eric, April 2017

 Great experience

 

Liya, March 2017

Lovely heritage cottage on the Owlpen estate, right next to the manor house and chapel. Great for an idyllic Cotswolds escape.

 

Richard and Paul, March 2017

Great cottage in a beautiful location - lots of lovely walks on the doorstep and perfect bolt hole for city folk like ourselves!

 

Ellen, January 2017

Perfect location for our get away from it all New Year break. Small and compact cottage but had everything we needed for our 3 night break.

 

Hazel, December 2016

Good communication and place as described. Lovely location

 

Athena, November 2016

A lovely setting, heating was on for us on timer, cottage was cosy, and there was a good level of cleanliness. Would recommend it for anyone wanting a countryside getaway.

 

Alessandra, November 2016

Adorable cottage. Very magical spot

 

Nicola, October 2016

The location is absolutely beautiful. Communication with the host was excellent and they left us plenty of information about the property and the surrounding area.

 

Roxane, October 2016

 This place is absolutely amazing, so lovely... It's all you can dream of when you think of the english country side. Obviously it's suitable only for people with a car and you should plan to take your food for breakfast with you as it's isolated (coffee, tea, and some biscuits were provided. In terms of kitchen ustensils, you'll find everything you need there even glasses for Champagne are provided). The house is like a doll house, very cute but easier for small people :) The solution they have to provide you with the keys is ideal and very flexible, you can arrive and leave at any time, the indications to reach the place aswell. It's ideal as a starting point to visit the Costwolds, very close to the amazing Tetbury village and one hour away from famous places like bourton on the water.

 

Gordon, October 2016

We were made to feel very welcome. We received a call en route to advise us of a minor problem that was being resolved.

 

Gabriella, September 2016

Beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting, with lots of lovely walks in the area. Would definitely recommend!

 

Stephanie, September 2016

My mum, sister and I had a wonderful stay at the Court House. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we enjoyed exploring the grounds of the estate. The house is very quaint, full of character and an ideal base from which to explore Bath and the Cotswolds. Bella was very helpful and accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. Perfect quintessential English countryside retreat, thank you!

 

Kashmir, August 2016

This was an impulse booking and we are glad we stayed at the Court House. The house has a nice rustic feel to it, the spiral staircase can be a little tight for some, although I am 6'2" and managed them fine. Bella at the estate office was extremely helpful with advice on where to eat and things to do. She was a life saver on our 3rd day when we had a flat tyre and she came to the cottage with an air compressor. All in all a very nice stay and would highly recommend this cottage to anybody wishing to explore the south cotswold area.

 

Lizzie, August 2016

Fantastic AirBnB stay in this historic cottage amid beautiful manor house gardens, a restful brook nearby and an idyllic pasture with sheep opposite. Our cottage and experience exceeded our expectations. We had a private terrace as well as a comfortable sitting room and dining room. Karin and Nicolas made us feel very welcome in person and with a fantastic information folder. We would definitely highly recommend this listing, and hope to return!

 

Derek, August 2016

The house was wonderful. It was mentioned that the house would not be to everyone's taste as it is unique. As long as you read the description properly and understand that the spiral staircase is steep and narrow, then there should be no problem at all. If my 87 year old father can walk up and down, so can most other people. Sorry to be so blunt but it would not be for large, wide people. Apart from that the Court House is charming, very comfortable and very stylishly decorated and furnished with good, old fashioned, taste. A delight. The beds were comfortable according to my two travel companions and my bed certainly was. The bathroom was good and modern and with lots of hot water. All in all - a very comfortable, perfectly located country house. We loved it. The location is a dream. The grounds of the Manor, the surrounding fields, the folds of the hills - straight out of a picture book. Sheep in the field opposite and cows in the next field. I sat drinking my tea looking over a pastoral scene that, for a Londoner, was straight out of a Hollywood film of what the English countryside would be - only this was real. Sorry Hugo and Karin - we are Londoners - please allow for some romanticism here. I shall be back, without a doubt. Please just allow me some availability. I came here based on the Israeli family's feedback so I am sure I am not doing myself a favour by waxing lyrical over your place as well. Still, you deserve to do very well. Hugo was very welcoming and very friendly. Good luck and enjoy your country idyll. Derek, Sergio, Don.

 

David, August 2016

The place is amazing! Character with a capital "C". We also had near perfect weather which I imagine makes a big difference. The surroundings are stunning, everywhere you look is another postcard photo opportunity. The hosts have provided just about everything you could need. Everything is cosy small but well kept, the kitchen even has a dishwasher. In fact the whole house is a bit of a tardis, it doesn't really seem possible to fit 2 double and 2 single beds but they have. The structure is nearing 400yrs old so expect small windows, uneven floors and drafts, but this can't be changed without losing character. The little front garden and eating area are great in the afternoon sun. Loads of walking opportunities and Uley local store only a 20min walk. Best family holiday ever.

 

Nicola, August 2016

Lovely place- was booked by me as accommodation for a wedding at the nearby Matara Centre in Kingscote, although it was actually some friends who ended up staying there due to the strict cancellation policy (which is very clearly stated on the listings page). Karin was really good to allow us to pass the booking on to a friend without any charge and they loved the house would highly recommend it. Karin provided lots of information and detailed directions before they arrived so key pick up was very straightforward. The house had everything you could need and was oozing with charm, character and home comforts and it was easy enough to get a taxi back from Matara late at night. Great little place!

Ben, July 2016

This is a lovely place. We were given easy arrival instructions & found the place with no problem. It's a very sweet place, lots of character. We were there in the height of summer and the rooms stayed fairly cool which was great. It was lovely to be able to walk around the grounds of Owlpen Manor, and there are lots of good walks nearby. I would be cautious of having small children in the Court House as the stairs are a fairly tight spiral, although this only adds to the character!

 

Grist Mill

Alexandra

We had a wonderful time at the Grist Mill. Karin and her family were very hospitable and the Grist Mill is in an idyllic place. The house is very nicely decorated and comfortable, the kitchen is super well equipped and the bedrooms are just lovely. There are beautiful walks to go on and the surroundings are incredible. We'd love to return!

Anna

Stunning house in the middle of buttercup fields, rolling hills and a babbling brook. Simply and beautifully decorated. Gorgeous walks, a Sunday village fete with BBQ, Pimms and band perfectly finished off an idyllic country weekend. 

Jessica

We celebrated my Mum's 60th Birthday at Grist Mill on the Owlpen Estate, and the house could not have been better. It was the perfect size for our party of 6 (although 2 more could have fit). It is a beautiful cottage with all the amenities necessary for the perfect country escape. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable and we all slept very well! The garden was the perfect size for our puppy to run around and the surrounding countryside was beautiful, we could have walked all day long. The check in was extremely easy and the information pack about various walks and local history was helpful. There was always help from Bella at the Manor if we had any queries. I would highly recommend.

Paul

A fantastically restored mill, with amazingly well-equipped kitchen, beautiful bedrooms, and superb location. Very friendly and welcoming, and a wonderful location for long walks with the dog. We had a great time, although it is a shame the pond had been drained (broken sluice gate, apparently). We would definitely recommend Grist Mill.

Lidia

We were a party of 6 staying at the Grist Mill for 3 nights in September 2015. It was a friends reunion to which we came from all parts of the globe. The Grist Mill was a perfect location for our reunion. The Mill is very comfortable and rustic. The floors have privacy and there are various corners that enabled us to be together but also have private time. The kitchen is very well equipped and we enjoyed cooking - we did not feel the need to go out for meals at all. 

Camilla

This cottage is completely idyllic and everything we wanted for our weekend away. The cottage is cosy but spacious and the surrounding area is breathtaking. Karin left us all the information we needed and communicated with us brilliantly prior to our arrival. Thank you!

Grace & Nick

We were a party of 8 friends (4 couples) staying in the Grist Mill for New Year's. The house is really lovely and the surrounding area is beautiful. We had a great time and all communication with Karin was good and the information pack provided was helpful. The internet must now be fixed (since the previous reviews) as we had no problems with the wifi. The only negative points were that, as mentioned in a previous review, the noise from the upstairs bathroom pipes was quite loud for the people sleeping in the twin room. Also the fourth bedroom is more like two single beds split over a floor which isn't particularly private. Therefore this arrangement may be better suited for two children rather than a couple.

Helen (May 2016)

The house was lovely. Bella was really friendly and helpful by email and upon arrival. Plenty of parking. Pub nearby and some good walks from the house. Previous reviews mention the noisy boiler and first floor toilet. It wasn't that bad and don't prevent us sleeping. Sleeps 3 couples, the two singles on the second floor are separated by curtains and the double room guests on that floor have to walk through one 'room' to get to the bathroom. Electric oven takes ages to warm up so be prepared. Peaceful location, only occasional walkers through the garden. Lovely pond for swimming.

Keren (May 2016)

Our party of seven all agreed that the mill was amazing! We all had a great time, lots of hiking during the day with walks on the doorstep, no need to use our car! Home to the tranquil and comfortable mill in the evening. The kitchen was fully equipped and the dining and relaxing area plenty big enough for all of us. The mill is beautifully preserved (possibly to the annoyance of taller members of the party! Watch out for low ceilings!) overall we had a great stay and would heartily recommend.

Ellen (July 2016)

I highly recommend Owlpen Manor! We were looked after very well and Bella And Karin gave us all the information we needed. The cottage was beautiful and the surrounding areas too. Perfect for a group of friends!

Shannon (July 2016) 

Great secluded home with everything you need. Clean, well equipped and more than comfortable. Wi-Fi is excellent and kitchen well stocked. Views are pretty and while the property is one of several on the estate, you always feel alone. Great walks surround and the local Uley pub is great for a meal and drink.

Daniel (July 2016)

Beautiful area, lovely house.

James (July 2016)

Great place for a short or long retreat from the city.

Penny (July 2016)

Grist Mill is a little piece of heaven in gorgeous countryside. We had a wonderful week here and loved the laid back atmosphere of the Owlpen estate. It was very hot at the start of the week so really enjoyed wild swimming in the small lake near to the house as did our labrador who swam several times a day. It is a perfect place to relax or use as a base to explore Gloucestershire. Bella was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We loved it here and definitely hope to return in the future.

Peter's Nest

Donna, May 2017

This is a completely secluded and peaceful spot. All you can hear is the sound of birdsong when you wake in the morning. comfortable and well-equipped cottage with lots of character. Very comfortable mattress and bed. Water pressure a bit low for showering. Kitchen well-equipped. A great place with access to walks from the door around the estate.

 

Simon, February 2017

We were moved from Peter's Nest to another cottage, Summerfield, at late notice. Summerfield turned out to be lovely, and well equipped (apart from a soft mattress). The log burner was great. The valley is beautiful, although the filming which had overrun and caused our relocation did restrict our movement until it finished. The area is lovely - Uley has a very good arts centre cafe and good walks. This cosy hideaway gave us a relaxing break.

 

Lucy, January 2017

A really cute and cosy little cottage perfect getaway. My boyfriend and I spent New Year's Eve here, sadly missed the first day of the trip due to illness, but the keys were left for us and the cottage lights and heating was on ready for us when we arrived. The kitchen was well equipped which was important as I love cooking! Sadly never got to meet our hosts but enjoyed walking around the beautiful surrounding area. The cottage is not ideal if you are tall, especially when it comes to showering, but apart from that it is perfect! I can highly recommend it.

 

Ali, December 2016

 Report

Helpful

Absolutely loved it, perfect get away.

 

Peter, December 2016

A lovely little cottage in the grounds of an old country manor house, Peters Nest is pretty much exactly as described: a cosy spot to spend a long weekend pottering around the surrounding areas with the dog. The wood burner was welcome, especially on a soggy winters' day! A local pub serves great hearty food and is about 20 minutes walk away, and the village stores are about the same for newspapers etc. Spot on.

 

Sarah, November 2016

We had a wonderful stay - the cottage is cosy and has everything you need.  It's a beautiful setting. The staff was very responsive and everything was easy to arrange - a delight!

 

David, October 2016

A wonderful stay in a magical cottage. Karin (and the pheasants) was very welcoming, and the cottage we stayed in was homely, warm and had everything needed. The Manor is a great hideaway and has a great feel to it. definitely recommend.

Woodwells

Aarti, June 2017

An incredible stay in Uley! Pictures don't do this cottage justice, it was absolutely beautiful & so so cosy! We were in the area for a wedding in Kingscote & it was very easy via taxi/car to get to. Extremely easy check in & Karin was very helpful beforehand with any questions I had! We didn't get a chance to but I imagine walks around the area would be sensational! The area is incredible! Highly recommend this cottage!

Julian, June 2017

Amazing cottage in the Cotswolds. We would return on our next trip.

Amanda, May 2017

Just as described. The cottage was beautiful and nicely furnished for comfort and appearance. The setting for the cottages was just stunning with expansive woodlands to walk in. We had 2 cottages for a family get together which suited perfectly as they were walking distance to each other. The kitchen was well equipped and stocked with kitchen basics making it easy to stay in. The estate office were very helpful with all enquiries. No complaints and I would love to stay again.

Michel, April 2017

 Total bliss, just go....

Katy, March 2017

 We had a fantastic stay at Woodwells cottage. The house is spacious, comfortable, well equipped and set in beautiful countryside. Highly recommend!

Amy, March 2017

 A perfect getaway in the Countryside, really clean, cosy, cottage-like and spacious! Was everything we were expecting plus the perks of having a backdrop of the woodland and surrounding estate. The birdsong was beautiful and the beds were extremely comfortable. A friendly and helpful man helped us at the Manor House but we were also left alone to get on with relaxing too. Would definitely come again!

Raphael, November 2016

A wonderful, peaceful location. The cottage was spacious, very clean and cosy. It had everything we needed. Truly wonderful.

John, October 2016

This is a perfect getaway cottage. Well appointed, clean, cosy and excellent location for getting away.

James, August 2016

A beautiful location

Pip, July 2016

Bella organises the cottages and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Gathering utensils to help with my cake baking and ensuring she was in to take receipt of my shoes that were being delivered for the wedding the next day. Thank you so much we had a wonderful stay!

Molly, May 2016

 Our stay at Owlpen was truly magical! Bella and Hugo left clear instructions for getting into the cottage, and everything was perfectly in order when we arrived. As a delightful bonus, they'd strung bunting up over the yard for our hen party. It was a beautiful sight to arrive to. A wonderful experience overall.

Chris, May 2016

 Even more beautiful than the pictures suggest. Perfect weekend. Thank you!

Evelyn, March 2016

This sweet cottage was tucked away down quaint, windy roads, was well secluded, quiet, and very private. It was just as it appears in the photos. The check-in/check-out process was smooth and friendly. Our daughter left her little teddy and Bella and Karin were kind enough to put it in the post back to us. I was able to go for a nice run and we had a magnificent meal at a gorgeous/delicious spa/b'n'b pub down the road, which Bella booked for us. It was perfect for my husband and I and our three little daughters.

Helena, March 2016

The cottage was perfect and such a lovely place to stay. Incredibly secluded and beautiful spot. After a nightmare with our car breaking down on arrival we were helped out by a lot of very kind local people!

Neil, August 2015

We had a lovely time at Owlpen. The setting is just so beautiful and the house was perfect. Thanks!

 

Juan Pablo, June 2015

The cottage is amazing! People from Owlpen Manor Office was very kind and provided very helpful information about places to visit. I strongly recommend this place.

 

Manor Farm